Rhayyan ‘The Hulk’ Amsali: The next big guy in PH basketball

By: Paolo Manuel C. Fule

Basketball as they say is the game of big, tall guys. Height is might, indeed, and more often than not, centers or legitimate big men are needed in a basketball team. They are important for ball possessions and rebounding, and give much confidence for outside shooters of a team. Meet Rhayyan Amsali, the next big guy in high school basketball.

Rhayyan Musa Amsali was born on December 28, 2000 at WMMC Hospital, Zamboanga City. He stands 6’ 2” and currently plays shooting guard in Midget Division for the NU Bullpups. His father is Rizalon Ulag Amsali and his mother is Nurhaisa M. Amsali.

“I balance my studies and basketball career by making sure I listen and participate actively in class and take down notes during lectures. I believe that when I listen, I understand things better. After my daily practice in basketball, I finish all my homework before I go to bed”, quipped Rhayyan.

Rhayyan’s career high is 38 points at Paya League midgets division, NU vs. La Salle Zobel and Got Skills League 38 points NU vs. MARIST quarterfinals. His favorite NBA players are Lebron James,

and Kobe Bryant. In the PBA, he likes James Yap and Calvin Abueva, while in the UAAP, he likes Jeron Teng and Alfred Aroga, and in the NCAA, he likes SBC guard Amer Baser.

His pre-game rituals include praying or duwa’a before the game starts and taking deep breaths always calm him down before playing. His jersey number 13 is actually the number of letters in his name, and he believes it is a lucky number for him.

Rhayyan is a three-time MVP, best player in Got Skills 2013, five-time best player in Got Skills 2014, part of the mythical five in Got Skills, Top ten in the Junior NBA2014 and won as Junior NBA Alaska Youth Ambassador 2014 at the Mall of Asia Arena.

“My dad taught me how to play basketball. Every time I go home from school, we practice shooting and dribbling skills. My parents enrolled me in basketball clinic for more exposure”, said Rhayyan. His ambition in life is to finish college and be a PBA player someday.

Email the author at: paolomanuelfule@yahoo.com  or text 0918405

Leave a comment