‘Leader of the band’ serves as inspiration for cager Sean Andrew “The Captain” Neri

By: Paolo Manuel C. Fule

For a father, there would be no higher compliment than the one which came from a son. And that act of gratitude shown by the son will always leave a mark every step of the way.

Born on July 27, 1997 in Dipolog City to Mr. Wilbourne Neri and Ms. Shella Marie Neri, Sean Andrew Neri, the 5’11 shooting guard who hails from Cagayan De Oro City, is currently playing for UPSHD Las Pinas Campus. Let us take a peek in this interview and how this young cager showed his emulation for his dad.

Paolo: When did you start playing basketball?

Sean Andrew: I started playing basketball when I was in grade 3.

Paolo: Who taught you to play the game?

Sean Andrew: Of course it was my dad. When I was starting to play basketball, he was training me the basic skills like dribbling and shooting.  I used to cry before because of the ten pushups I have to do early in the morning. I have to dribble the ball on the wall before I go to school. It was a hard training but only now that I knew that those trainings would lead me to become a better athlete. I have also seen how my father, together with my uncles, play basketball. I was watching them then, and from then on, I also started to like the game. That’s why I told my father that I want to play basketball. My father startedto teach me the ways of the game. I was inspired to play because of my father.

Paolo: Do you have other sports aside from basketball?

Sean Andrew: Nothing more. Only basketball. The first love of my life is basketball.

Paolo: What are your goals when it comes to playing basketball?

Sean Andrew: To be a professional basketball player so that I can help my parents and also to give back their unwavering support in my young basketball career.

Paolo: For you, who is the greatest basketball player of all time and why?

Sean Andrew: For me, it would be my dad simply because I learned how to play the game because of him. He also motivated me and he became my inspiration. That’s why for me, the greatest player of all time would be my father.

With determination and perseverance, this young athlete can achieve greater heights and carve a niche in the world of professional basketball in the near future.

Email the author at: paolomanuelfule@yahoo.com or text 09184059751.

.

Leave a comment