Enderun Titan cager Ajay ‘Iron Man’ Khatri takes flight on engine of greatness

By: Paolo Manuel C. Fule

The Philippines is a country known for world-class sports figures like boxing icon Manny Pacquiao, kegler Paeng Nepomuceno, runner Lydia De Vega, the magician Efren “Bata” Reyes, and Nonito “The Filipino Flash” Donaire. These athletes are products of hard work and training that they developed when they were still young. Such is the case of this upcoming basketball star from Enderun Colleges.

Born Ajay Sta. Teresa Khatri on April 16, 1997, in Pasay to Kumar Khatri and Estela Khatri, this 6-foot-1 Filipino-Indian high school student athlete who played as small forward/power forward for the Far Eastern University Baby Tamaraws. He now takes his talents to Enderun Colleges Titans. Headed by coach Pipo Noundou, Enderun Colleges Titans join several collegiate tournaments including the Men’s National Collegiate Athletic Association (MNCAA).

Aside from being a student and a player, he is also fond of modeling and into male pageants wherein he won in the Philippine Youth Ambassador 2015. He was recently invited to be one of the guests in the morning show  Good Morning Boss! featuring other winners in the Philippine Youth Ambassadors giving back to the community TV special on PTV 4.

In the hard court, he registered his career high of 35 points in the PSAP basketball tournament. His pre-game rituals include listening to music and focusing on his games. If given the chance to play one-on-one with an NBA player, he would choose Kyrie Irving of Cleveland Cavaliers because he likes Kyrie’s basketball skills and toughness on the court. His favorite shot includes fake spin and jump shot. Aside from basketball, Ajay is also into swimming, a sport that requires good physique and healthy living. His favorite movie is ‘Coach Carter’ while when it comes to music, he prefers pop sounds. He usually eats protein, less on carbohydrates diet and whole body exercise to stay fit and healthy in playing a physical game such as basketball.

“I learned to play the game the hard way. I got teased a lot because they told me that I was too small and skinny, I might get hurt. So I practiced every night until I got the chance to showcase my skills in small leagues”. Asked how he manages to balance his game and studies, “I prioritize my schedule and organize it carefully to attend classes even though I have practice”, quipped the beaming cager from FEU. His favorite NBA star is Kyrie Irving, and his ambition in life is to be a successful PBA star in the near future. “My speed and shooting are my strengths while I think I still need to develop my physical game and play with more toughness in the court. My goal is simple. I’ll just give 100% and hope for the best”, added Ajay.

With unmatched perseverance and the will to excel in every game that he is in, Ajay can be in the same room as the players in the PBA dug out when it comes to discussion of the best players in the league. That will be in the near future but for the time being, determination and faith in God is his armor in each battle he is at.

Email the author at paolomanuelfule@yahoo.com or text 09184059751.

Leave a comment