La Salle cager hunkie Ezekeil Fondevilla and his passion for basketball

 

The game of basketball has evolved a lot in this time and age, as reflected on how the game is played in the international scene particularly in the NBA. It is said that long-range shooting is the “new normal” in the game of basketball. Today, this notion has been added to the fact that centers and forwards should also know how to create mid-range and long-range shots. Such is the case of this young and upcoming cager from La Salle Antipolo. Meet Ezekeil Fondevilla.

 

Born Ezekeil M. Fondevilla on February 16, 2002 in Sta. Mesa, Manila to Mr. Romarico Fondevilla and Ms. Marites Fondevilla, the 5-foot-11 cager from La Salle College Antipolo is currently studying STEM as a grade 11 student. He plays point guard and shooting guard for his team. His favorite shot is 3-point long range shots.

 

Asked how he manages to balance his studies and his love for basketball, “Back then when I started my career in basketball, I already thought of the possibility that my career in this sports will affect my studies. On the other hand, of course I wouldn’t let my passion in basketball ruin my academic life. The most important thing for me to consider when balancing between my studies and basketball is to manage my time properly. Time management is really important since if I can’t manage my time between my career and academics properly, I would have a difficult time maintaining my grades”, said Ezi as he is fondly called.

 

His career high in points is 34 when he was in grade 9 during the Private School basketball League (PSBL) against Letran Knights. His idols in basketball are Stephen Curry, Kobe Bryant, Michael Jordan and Lebron James. His facvorite team in the NBA is the Golden State Warriors while his favorite player there is Stephen Curry. When it comes to keeping his body healthy and fit for the game, “I am not really picky when it comes to the foods that I eat but of course I only eat in moderation and what’s enough to maintain my body. I exercise regularly for about 2-3 times a day but before I do that, I would jog first for about 30 minutes”, said Ezekeil. His ambition in life is to become a successful businessman in the future so that he can give back to those people who helped him grow especially his parents.

 

It takes a lot of guts, courage, and hard work to attain such discipline in the world of sports like basketball and Ezekeil is definitely on a mission this year. With the help of God and his determination to succeed in his chosen path, the road to glory should indeed be on sight.

 

Email the author at: paolomanuelfule@yahoo.com

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment